Alumni Awards

Annually, during Alumni Weekend, Ripon College has the privilege to present its alumni with the following honors:

Though 2020 looks a little different, we’re just as eager to announce this year’s honorees. If you would like to be involved in future nominations, please use the Nomination Form.

The Distinguished Alumni Citation recognizes those alumni who, in thought and deed, embody the highest ideals and aspirations of a Ripon College education. Candidates may be selected on any one of the following criteria: distinction in his/her chosen field or profession (distinctive achievement); rendering outstanding service to his/her country, state or community (outstanding service); or rendering outstanding service to, and demonstrating a loyal and active interest in Ripon College (meritorious service). This year’s recipients are as follows:

ripon logo on red background

Ruth Anne Gero Adams ’85 of Clemmons, North Carolina, has been a senior litigation analyst with Womble Bond Dickinson LLP (U.S.) since 1995.

man in dark blue shirt named Jim

James P. Danky ’70 of Stoughton, Wisconsin, is retired from the University of Wisconsin-Madison where he taught in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

man named jon next to colorful art pieces

Jon A. Fasanelli-Cawelti ’75 of Muscatine, Iowa, is an artist and printmaker who exhibits nationally and internationally.

man named william in aviation gear

William C. Quistorf ’80 of Everett, Washington, is chief pilot with the Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office in Washington state.

The Outstanding Young Alumni Award recognizes and honors recent Ripon College graduates (10 years or less from graduation) who have, through personal efforts and commitment to the College or their local communities, distinguished themselves among their peers. This year’s recipients are as follows:

woman named sarah standing in front of red door

Sarah M. Anderson ’10 of Washington, D.C., works as an ecologist for the USDA Forest Service and is currently assigned to a role supporting the 2020 Resources Planning Act Assessment, a report on conditions and trends in natural resources.

Lucy A. Burgchardt ’10 of Bettendorf, Iowa, is an assistant professor in the Department of Communication Studies at Augustana College, Rock Island, Illinois.


The Ripon College Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 1979 by the Alumni Association Board of Directors to recognize alumni and coaches who have distinguished themselves through their participation in Ripon athletic programs. This year’s inductees are as follows:


Abigail Williams-Budzynski ’98 was a three-time All-Conference performer for Ripon’s cross country team, finishing in the top 10 individually three times at the Midwest Conference Championships.

man named Todd playing volleyball

Todd W. Ciesielczyk ’87 was a three-sport athlete at Ripon, competing in football, wrestling and track and field, where he was a four-time All-American. That marks the most All-American honors by an individual in program history.

Aaron B. Johnson ’03 played a key role on Ripon’s baseball team which won two Midwest Conference Championships and appeared in the NCAA Tournament three times.


Troy M. Youngbauer ’96 was a two-time First Team All-Conference selection as a linebacker for Ripon’s football team, earning West Region All-America honors in 1995, while also being named Defensive Team Most Valuable Player.

Physical Address:
300 W. Seward St. Ripon, WI 54971
Privacy Policy
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 920-748-8115
Campus Map