Patrick Willoughby

Patrick Willoughby

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: Farr 304

  • Basic Information
  • Awards & Honors
  • Publications
  • Areas of Interest
  • Professional Affiliations

Basic Information


  • University of Northern Iowa, B.S., chemistry, 2008
  • University of Minnesota, Ph.D., chemistry, 2013

Courses Taught

  • Organic Chemistry I
  • Organic Chemistry II
  • Advanced Organic Chemistry
  • Advanced Laboratory
  • Guided Studies into Polymer Chemistry

Awards & Honors

  • NSF Graduate Research Fellowship 2010-2013
  • Wayland E. Noland Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award 2010
  • University of Minnesota Graduate School Fellowship 2008
  • University of Northern Iowa Purple and Old Gold Award 2008
  • Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship 2007


  • “On the Mechanism of the Reactions of Alcohols with o-Benzynes,” Willoughby, P. H.; Niu, D.; Wang, T.; Haj, M. K.; Cramer, C. J.; Hoye, T. R. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2014, Article ASAP.
  • “Generation of Gaussian 09 Input Files for the Computation of 1H and 13C NMR Chemical Shifts of Structures from a Spartan’14 Conformational Search,” Reisbick, S.; Willoughby, P. Protocol Exchange 2014, Community Contribution.
  • “A Guide to Small-Molecule Structure Assignment Through Computation of (1H and 13C) NMR Chemical Shifts,” Willoughby, P. H.; Jansma, M. J.; Hoye, T. R. Nature Protocols 2014, 9, 643–660.
  • “Alkane Desaturation by Concerted Double Hydrogen Atom Transfer to Benzyne,” Niu, D.; Willoughby, P. H.; Woods, B. P.; Baire, B.; Hoye, T. R. Nature 2013, 501, 531–534.
  • “Synthesis of Complex Benzenoids via the Intermediate Generation of o-Benzynes Through the Hexadehydro-Diels–Alder Reaction,” Baire, B.; Niu, D.; Willoughby, P. H.; Woods, B. P.; Hoye, T. R. Nature Protocols 2013, 8, 501–508.
  • “Cyclization Methods,” Hoye, T. R.; Baire, B.; Niu, D.; Willoughby, P. H.; Woods, B. P. US Patent 13,756,069, January 13,2013.
  • “The Hexadehydro-Diels–Alder Reaction,” Hoye, T. R.; Baire, B.; Niu, D.; Willoughby, P. H.; Woods, B. P. Nature 2012,490, 208–212.
  • “Decarboxylative Isomerization of N-Acyl-2-oxazolidinones to 2-Oxazolines,” May, A. E.; Willoughby, P. H.; Hoye, T. R.; J.Org. Chem. 2008, 73, 3292–3294.
  • “On the Heat of Formation of Nitromethane,” Bumpus, J. A.; Willoughby, P. H. J. Phys. Org. Chem. 2008, 21, 747–757.

Areas of Interest

  • Organic synthesis
  • Natural products
  • Computational chemistry

Professional/Scholarly Affiliations

  • American Chemical Society
  • Lilly Open Innovation Drug Discovery Program coordinator at Ripon College